Cocoa Butter, despite its name, is dairy-free. After the cocoa bean is extracted from the shell, the bean is then ground into a liquid called Cocoa/Chocolate Liquor. From that point, the fat is extracted from the liquor, which is called Cocoa Butter (non-dairy of course). Once the Cocoa Butter is removed, all that remains is Cocoa Powder.